Anecdote without commentary

One of my language teachers shared the following anecdote yesterday (paraphrasing here):

An old man goes to church every day. Every day, he kneels before the altar and prays: “Oh God, why don’t you make me rich? I’ve been poor all my life, and it’s been so difficult. All I want in life is to be to win the lottery, just once. Please, oh Lord, I beg you!”

One day, all the saints and angels adorning the iconostasis finally cry out to God: “Please, oh Lord, give this man what he wants! He’s been begging for so long, and we’re tired of hearing it!”

From on high, God replies: “I’m not opposed to it, but he has to at least buy a lottery ticket!”

Leave a Reply

